The European Respiratory Society (ERS) Clinical Research Collaboration (CRC) programme funds a network of researchers to work on projects which improve knowledge in respiratory health and medicine. This programme was established in 2013 with the aims of: promoting the exchange of research ideas among clinicians and affiliated scientists in Europe and/or globally; building an infrastructure for prospective clinical research; securing additional funding through national and EU funding streams; and facilitating the planning, conducting, evaluation and publishing of clinical and translational studies at pan-European level and beyond.

There are currently 17 ongoing ERS CRCs, representing all eight major respiratory disease domains (airway diseases, interstitial lung diseases, pulmonary vascular diseases, sleep and breathing disorders, respiratory critical care, paediatric respiratory diseases, respiratory infections and thoracic oncology), as illustrated below. The ERS CRCs encompass a vast spectrum of pan-European and/or global collaborations, including disease-specific paediatric and adult clinical registries for common and rare lung diseases (the latter in close collaboration and partnership with ERN-LUNG).

To date, six projects chaired by ERN-LUNG members have been supported by the CRC programme.

EMBARC – European Multicentre Bronchiectasis Audit and Research Collaboration
CRC Chairs: James Chalmers, Eva Polverino
Start date: 2014 renewed in 2017

ChILDEU – The European research collaboration for Children’s Interstitial Lung Disease
CRC Chairs: Steve Cunningham, Nicolaus Schwerk
Start date: 2016 renewed in 2019

ARIANE-IPF – ERS pan-European IPF registry and biobank
CRC Chairs: Bruno Crestani, Vincent Cottin
Start date: 2016

EARCO – European Alpha-1 research COllaboration
CRC Chairs: Marc Miravitlles, Timm Greulich
Start date: 2018

PHAROS – severe Pulmonary Hypertension mAnagement acROSs Europe
CRC Chairs: Olivier Stibon, Abilio Reis
Start date: 2019

BEAT-PCD – Better Experimental Approaches to Treat Primary Ciliary Dyskinesia
CRC Chairs: Amelia Shoemark, Myrofora Goutaki
Start date: 2020